Gastric Bypass Girl Part 219


We are headed for another hot spell, Friday, Saturday and Sunday.  I really hope that this is the last spell.  I am so tired of the heat, humidity, fires and drought.  I am hoping for a good El Nino this winter.  I have always wondered why we have cement rivers that make the water flow to the ocean.  I would love to see them dammed up and the water used for the purpose God intended it for.  Such a waste letting it drain off instead of pumping it for use on farms, vineyards, yards, etc. 

Wednesday morning I am going with my friend to have her MRI on her abdomen, checking for gall bladder problems.  She has been in quite a bit of pain lately and it is time to make sure it isn’t something else.  I am hoping the problem can be easily taken care of by Laparoscopy.  She has a new job starting mid month and has enough time to recuperate before it starts.  Since she can’t eat or drink for 10 hours before her MRI, we will go to breakfast/brunch afterward.  Since I am a Diabetic, and will have taken my meds before I leave home, I will also have a Crabmaster yogurt to hold me over until we eat.

Wednesday afternoon I find out what my MRI had to say about the cyst on my Pancreas.  I am sure it isn’t anything to worry about at this time or my surgeon would have notified me to come in sooner.  I could have postponed the MRI for a year or so, but I would much rather find out what is wrong while there is time to treat it before something major develops.  I am too old to ‘wait and see’.

Thursday morning my friend and I are going in for my Ultrasound to see if the water pocket is empty or refilling.  This will help relieve my mind and allow me to ‘get on with my life’.  I have been in a holding pattern for 30 months now and I am ready to break out of my cocoon and fly away!  I have plans for the holidays and I need to be able to do a major redo of my home so that I will be able to have out of town visitors in for a visit.  My home is clean but cluttered.  I need to clean out and throw out all my miscellaneous papers and things that I no longer need or use.  I have spent my entire life saving things and giving things away and now is the time to completely clean everything out.  That way, if something happens it will be easier for my relatives to deal with.  I do not have a ‘fatalists’ attitude, but, at 70 and a Cancer Survivor who was hugely obese for most of my life, I want to live in the present and let go of the past.

Just came from the Oncology surgeon, news is not good.  There is a lesion on the Pancreas and it was decided that I will have surgery on October 21st.  It was definitely NOT the answer I thought I was going to hear but the sooner it is removed, the less time it will have to expose the rest of my body to cancer cells.  I had hoped when he was talking to me, that I would be able to have it removed by Laparoscopy but since I have had numerous abdominal surgeries, that was out.  They are afraid that the mesh used for my hernias might get damaged so it will be open surgery.  Oh, well, with God’s help and your prayers, I will be fine.

 News was not any better on Thursday.  The water is back in my abdomen.  I had to have another needle drain inserted to drain the fluid off.  Instead of 6 small pockets and 1 big one, this time I have 2 big pockets.  While I was laying on the gurney, the tech drained off 2.2 liters of fluid.  I hope this is the last time I have to do this.  Oh, well, time will tell.  At least I will have the fluid off the stomach before 10/21 surgery date. 

That is all for this week.  I will keep you informed to my progress.  I am so glad my Oncologist insisted on a CT scan, it brought out problems that can be handled and kept from becoming deadly.  Even though I was devastated, I know it is early enough to be dealt with.

 

LISTEN TO YOUR BODY,

IT WILL TELL YOU

WHEN SOMETHING IS WRONG.

THE SOONER YOU ARE DIAGNOSED,

THE BETTER YOUR CHANCES

FOR A HEALTHIER LIFE!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment